top of page

Nobody Knows

I've submitted my first two summative essays for the theology classes I'm doing, I'll probably get a mark back for the second one this week, I'm only a little bit nervous. Anyway, one thing that struck me before Christmas while we covered the lighthearted topic of evil and suffering was how similar to QI our lectures were. There's only usually a small number of us sat in a horseshoe shape and any minute if a question is asked I feel like raising a small sign with a question mark on it. Especially some of the questions about providence and theodicy that nobody agreed on at all. Maybe a voice over will say 'nobody knows' in a deep booming voice and I'll get some bonus points. I'm not going to go into it on here but further to this there are people in the room who remind me of celebrities I've seen on the show, basically I usually spend the 2 hour class in my own imaginary episode.

Every Thursday evening a group of us from the churches meet for a meal and discuss the Gospel reading for he coming week. Ours is one of several across the Cluster and along with another one on early Tuesday morning this is usually the second Bible study of the week for me. It's a great routine to be in and it's really helping me and everyone else involved to gain new appreciation and insights into scripture that we may have read countless times before. What we discuss usually ends up as part of the structure of our Sunday services, finding fresh messages from our readings is and challenge but sometimes we find that sticking to the simple lessons from the reading is just as beneficial.

Christine, Dan and Sophie- the interns at Stithians suffer a visit from me every Wednesday afternoon and very graciously cook me a meal. Probably to stop me complaining. For the last Wednesday before Christmas we travelled down the road to see the Mousehole lights display, it was well worth the look but unfortunately we arrived fairly late and none of the food kiosks were open so we couldn't get a snack. Honestly,  all the other interns ever hear me talk about is food. As well as this I had previously mentioned that they may need some new board games so a while back I bought them the Cornwall edition of Monopoly. On the night I brought it along to give it to them I found that they'd done a similar thing (bought monopoly and a couple of other new games) and I had to find another recipient for the unwanted one. Fortunately I had just the person to give it to, hopefully they've made good use of it.

Christmas and New Year were spent at home in Ferndown and I've recuperated some energy ready for 2017. For the first time in a long time we spent New Year at home with a Chinese takeaway, of course Tim went out not to be seen until the next afternoon. I don't set resolutions so his year I'm just gonna keep getting on with things, preparing for September and watching Sherlock. Albeit Sherlock is quite short term, only one episode left now unfortunately.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page